⚠ Important: Licensing requirements change frequently. Always verify current requirements directly with your state licensing board before applying. Last reviewed April 2026.

Alabama Social Work Licensing

What the Alabama State Board of Social Work Examiners requires to reach LICSW — supervised hours, exams, continuing education and renewal.

Last reviewed: October 2026

Maximum supervision window. Alabama's own rule states two different maximums: 850-X-03.04(2)(h) says 4 years, while 850-X-03.04(2)(g) says 3 years. The board's FAQ frames it as 24 months of supervision completed within 36 months. Confirm your deadline with the board before you plan around either figure.

License levels in Alabama

CredentialFull nameNotes
LBSWLicensed Bachelor Social WorkerBachelor's-level license.
LMSWLicensed Master Social WorkerMaster's level; declares a Clinical or Non-Clinical designation.
LICSWLicensed Independent Clinical Social WorkerThe independent clinical license.
PIPPrivate Independent PracticeAn add-on authorisation for independent-contractor casework, not a standalone level.

LICSW requirements

Supervised experience3,000 hours — post-master's work hours before sitting the LICSW exam
Supervision hours96 hours clinical supervision from a Board-approved LICSW; may run concurrently with the work hours
Supervision frequencyAt least 4 hours per month for 24 months, completed within a 36-month window.
Minimum elapsed time2 years
Direct client contactNot specified by the board

Examinations

The board states that approved applicants are eligible to sit the ASWB examination, and its rules say only "an examination prescribed by the Board." The specific ASWB category for each Alabama license level is not named in board sources.

We have flagged the exam mapping above because the board does not state it plainly in the sources we could reach. Confirm it with the board before you register and pay for a category.

Continuing education and renewal

30 hours per 2-year renewal cycle, all levels.

Practising across state lines

Alabama has enacted the Social Work Licensure Compact. Thirty-three jurisdictions have. Enactment is not the same as availability: the Compact Commission has not opened applications and no multistate licenses have been issued yet. Until it goes live, licensure by endorsement remains the route into another state. Where the compact actually stands.

Sources and verification

Primary authority: Alabama State Board of Social Work Examiners. Where anything on this page differs from the board, the board governs.

We do not publish fee amounts. Boards revise fee schedules without notice and a stale figure on a page people budget from is worse than no figure — use the board link above for current fees.

Requirements change. Confirm anything you intend to act on with the board before you apply. Tell us if something here is out of date and we will correct and re-date the page.

Last reviewed: October 2026 · Next scheduled review: January 2027

Plan this out step by step

This guide is the reference. If you want it turned into dates and a checklist — when to register, when each exam opens to you, what the fees come to — the roadmap builder does that for Alabama.

Open the interactive roadmap builder →